I stood up..

Now before you’ll get me wrong, I am not referring to any of my dates that I may have stood up back in the day. Of course I’ve done that a lot but this is above all that.

I’ve been doing a little thinking and I’ve come to realize that I’ve always stood up for what I believed in. By this I mean that if I don’t feel right about something, I don’t go ahead with it. There was a phase in my life when I was pursuing a career option in event management. Since I am a people’s person I thought this could work. So I used to take up events on and off as I was freelancing and one of the events landed me in this place called Kolkata. Now, I really do thank my parents in offering me support even in my stupidest of decisions. But that’s what parents do I guess or it’s just that I am extremely lucky!

The company who I signed up with had told me that we will be flying both ways. Our onward journey was by air but once I reached the venue and interacted with the other girls I realized that I was being played. While the rest of them were told about the return being a train journey, they had come prepared to take the 36hr journey back home. However, I had committed to another company the next day of my arrival. This was when I thought that we were flying back. I lost my cool and although I was just another team member, I did not cringe even once before asking for what I truly deserved. I called the organizer and gave him a piece of my mind. I threatened him that if he didn’t book my flight tickets I was going to raise more hell at the event. So almost an hour or so later, I finally managed to get tickets that were not only for me but for two of my friends as well.

Far away from home, while feeling so powerless I somehow managed to stand up for what was right and get my dues. Thing to remember is, no one in this world has more power over you than you yourself. You need to realize your worth and there will be nothing that will stand in your way. So fight for justice to be done to you, instead of being a mute spectator.

Leave a Reply

